Inauguration of Ondo State 9th Assembly -Oleyelogun, Iroju Retain Positions

The Ondo state house of assembly has reelected Rt. Honourable Bamidele Oleyeloogun as the Speaker of the 9th assembly at her inaugural parliamentary s

“Unemployed youths should venture into politics rather than crime” –Professor Aboluwoye
Samuel Olayiwola and Elizabeth Ifedayo became One

The Ondo state house of assembly has reelected Rt. Honourable Bamidele Oleyeloogun as the Speaker of the 9th assembly at her inaugural parliamentary session presently holding in the Assembly complex in the state Capital,

Oleyelogun, who represents the Ifedore state constituency was nominated by Hon. Towase Kuti representing Akoko south east state constituency and seconded by Hon. Wale Williams representing Ondo west state constituency 2.

Oleyelogun was declared the speaker of the 9th assembly unopposed, in the absence of further nominations.

Earlier, the majority leader of the 8th Assembly, Hon. Joseph Araoyinbo had moved a motion for the dissolution of the 8th Assembly, seconded by the deputy speaker of the 8th assembly, Rt. Hon. Ogundeji Iroju.

Ogundeji Iroju representing Odigbo state constituency 1 was also reelected the deputy speaker of the 9th assembly unopposed.

Iroju, who was nominated by Hon. Felemu gudu, representing Akoko south west constituency 2 and seconded by Hon. Success, was a former deputy speaker of the 8th Assembly.

While giving his acceptance speech, Oleyelogun thanked his colleagues and leaders of the APC in the state for trusting him with the mandate to serve as speaker of the 9th Assembly.

He said:

“I am ready to serve you and grateful for this opportunity to serve the people of Ondo state. Your cooperation is very paramount to get to the promise land.”

The speaker and deputy speaker were sworn in by the clerk of the house while other members of the 9th Assembly were thereafter sworn in by the speaker.

 Meanwhile, earlier before the inauguration, Ondo State Governor, Arakunrin Oluwarotimi Akeredolu, SAN, has met with the lawmakers in the state. The Governor met the lawmakers at the Elizade University, Ilara-mokin in Ifedore Local Government, Area of the state  during an induction programme proceeding the inauguration.

The governor promised to work with any officer elected and also assured of his cooperation with the State House of Assembly.

He explained that the Legislative and Executive arm of government  needed to be in harmony for the state to move forward, and to ensure that the people reaped the dividends of democracy

“I will work with you, and am always prepared to work with you. But I will always demand that whatever we do, we should be reasonable

“Whatever comes from your collective wisdom, I am ready to work with them. Find a way to work as one because there is a lot to be done for our people.

“The last Assembly did extremely well in Legislative functions. We are ahead of many states in laws passed. I believe that this new Assembly will surpass what the last did because many of you are promising,” he said.

According to  Arakunrin Akeredolu “the House of Assembly building will be renovated because it is important, and we believe in it, so maintain it when it is done.”

He further advised the lawmakers to be patient because the state must prioritize its spendings in view of limited funds.

“In the past four months, our FAAC allocations have dropped, but we have been able to manage due to the steady increase in the IGR, which used to be N700 million but has now increased to N1.5 billion monthly.

“Even the contractors working on road projects in the state are due for payment, but we must prioritize even as I have prioritized for the sake of the state,” he said.

 Other members of the Assembly inaugurated are:

Hon. Elegbeleye Rasheed: Akoko North East (PDP) ,Hon. Jamiu Sulaimon Mayo : Akoko North West (APC) , Hon. Mohammed Taofeek Oladele : Akoko North West II (APC) ,Hon. Towase Kuti : Akoko South (APC) , Hon. Omole Olugbenga Akinola : Akoko South West I (APC) ,Hon. Felemu Gudu Bankole : Akoko South West II (APC) ,Hon. Abiodun Faleye : Akure North (APC) , Hon. Borokini Toluwani Simeon : Akure South I (APC), and Hon. Olajide David Sunday : Akure South II (APC),

Others are: Hon. Torhukerhijo Success Taiwo : Ese Odo (APC), Hon. Akingbaso Festus O. Idanre (PDP), Hon. Akinruntan Abayomi : Ilaje I (APC), Hon. Tomomewo Favour Semilore : Ilaje II (APC), Hon. Adefiranye Ayodele Festus : Ileoluji/Okeigbo ( APC),Hon. Ademola Samuel Edamisan : Irele (APC), Hon. Adeboroye Samuel Ademoye : Odigbo II (APC), Hon. Akinrogunde Akintomide : Okitipupa I (APC) ,Hon. Akinwumi Sina Emmanuel : Okitipupa II (APC) , Hon. Oladiji O Adesanmi : Ondo East (APC). ,Hon. Akinribido Tomide Leonard : Ondo West I (ZLP), Hon. Adewinle Adewale : Ondo West II (APC), Hon. Oluyede Olushola Feyide : Ose (APC),,. Hon. Ogunmolasuyi Oluwole E. Owo I (APC), Hon. Adeyemi Olayemi Adesina : Owo II (APC).

Hon Oleyelogun is a third time members, who contested on platform of Labour Party (LP) in 2011 and later moved to All Progressive Party (APC) to re contest third time and was elected as speaker for the second time.

The Speaker when conducting his first assignment at the floor of the house announced the key principal position which includes Jamiu Maito representing Akoko North West 1 as Majority Leader and Olumide Oladeji, representing Ondo East Constituency as deputy leader.

Toluwani Borokini representing Akure 1 named Whip, Abayomi Akinruntan from Ilaje constituency 1 was given Parliamentary Secretary and Akinrongunde Akintunmide representing Okitipupa 1 named assistant parliamentary secretary and Rasheed Olegbeleye from Akoko North East is Minority Leader.

The house has proceed on 4 weeks break and resume July 9,2019 to enable the members to settle down properly for legislative work.

According to Oleyelogun, the recess will enable the Assembly to sort out accommodation for the lawmakers in Akure and renovate their offices to create conducive atmosphere for their legislative duties.

Spread the love