10th Ondo Assembly Inaugurated…..as Oladiji, Akinrutan emerged Speaker, Deputy Speaker

10th Ondo Assembly inaugurated
…….as Oladiji , Akinruntan emerged Speaker, Deputy Speaker

By Awodeyi Elizabeth

The 10th Ondo State State House of Assembly has been officially inaugurated.

The Clerk of the House, Jaiyeola Benjamin read the proclamation of the State Governor,Arakunrin Oluwarotimi Akeredolu for the first session of the 10th Assembly to begin in line with the constitution.

The inauguration followed the expiration of the 9th Assembly led by the immediate past Speaker, Bamidele Oleyelogun.

During the session, a Member representing Ondo East constituency, Hon Olamide Oladiji and a Lawmaker representing Ilaje Constituency 1 , Prince Abayomi Akinruntan were elected Speaker , Deputy Speaker respectively (unopposed) to lead the 10th Ondo State House of Assembly of renewed Hope .

Both the Speaker and the Deputy Speaker took Oaths of office which was conducted by the Clerk of the House. Thereafter, other members equally took their oaths of allegiance which was conducted by the new Speaker in accordance with the constitution.

A Lawmaker representing Ifedore constituency, Temitope Akomolafe moved a motion for the nomination of Oladiji Olamide as Speaker which was seconded by the Lawmaker representing Ondo West 2, Abiola Oladapo, while a Lawmaker representing Idanre Constituency, Princess Oluwatosin Ogunlowo nominated Prince Abayomi Akinruntan for the position of a Deputy Speaker.

Earlier,the 26 Members-elect layed their original certificates of returned before the House for authentication.

Addressing the 10th Assembly, the new Speaker, Olamide Oladiji, appreciated his colleagues for the confidence reposed in him.

While welcoming the honorable members, both returning and newly elected,he appreciated Governor Akeredolu for his strong leadership and for providing an enabling environment that made this day possible.

He thanked the APC Chairman, Ade Adetimehin and other party leaders and members, for their doggedness.

“To my colleagues, this victory is for all of us, by electing me as the Speaker, you have demonstrated to the world that our legislatives are living up to the dreams and aspiration. I pledge to you my colleagues that there will be a smooth relationship between the legislative and the executive arms of government in order for us to achieve success”.

The 26 newly inaugurated Lawmakers are: Oluwole Emmanuel Ogunmolasuyi Owo I, Oladiji Olamide Ondo East, Ololade Gbegudu Okitipupa II, Abayomi Akinruntan Ilaje I, Morenike Witherspoon Owo II, Olawunmi Fayemi Ilaje II, Princess Tosin Ogunlowo Ajirotutu, Idanre, Chris Ayebusiwa, Okitipupa I , Olatunji Ifabiyi, Odigbo I, Stephen Abitogun, Akure II, Temitope Akokolafe, Ifedore, Moyinolorun Ogunwumiju, Ondo West I, Dr. Christopher Ogunlana, Irele, Mrs Morenike Witherspoon, Owo II, Oladapo John Biola, Ondo West II, Messiah Allen, Ese-Odo, Oluwarotimi Fasonu, Odigbo II, Oshatti Olatunji Emmanuel, Ose; Murtala Suleiman, Akoko South East; Fatai Tiamiyu Atere, Akoko North West 1; Victor Japhet, Akoko North East, Kolawole Ologede, Akure North Oguntodu Olajide, Akure I, Oluwatoyin Daodu, Akoko Southwest I, Tope Agbulu, Akoko Southwest II, and Felix Afe, Akoko Northwest II.

Spread the love